Amy Winehouse Is Honored Posthumously At The 2012 Soul Train Awards

Amy Winehouse is honored posthumously at the 2012 Soul Train Awards for her song “Our Day Will Come” from her Lioness: Hidden Treasures album.

“Our Day Will Come” has been nominated posthumously in the Best International Performance category.

Listen to Amy Winehouse Sing Our Day Will Come Here

Soul Train Awards 2012 Logo

R. Kelly (Robert Sylvester Kelly) is nominated for two awards at this year’s Soul Train Awards, making him the most nominated act ever at the awards show. R. Kelly is up for the Ashford & Simpson songwriter’s award and album of the year, bringing his career total to 21 nominations.

R. Kelly began his career in 1989 and is best known for his songs “Bump n’ Grind,” “Your Body’s Callin,” and “I Believe I Can Fly.”

Whitney Houston is nominated for best gospel inspirational performance and Usher leads this year’s awards with five nominations for Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Best R&B/Soul Male Artist.

Nas, Trey Songz, Nicki Minaj, John Legend and Estelle are also multiple nominees. With New Edition to receive a lifetime achievement award at this years Soul Train awards.

This Amy Winehouse is honored posthumously at the 2012 Soul Train Awards report is from eonline.

Whitney Houston, Amy Winehouse Honored Posthumously With 2012 Soul Train Awards Nominations

The 2012 Soul Train Awards seek to honor music’s top acts—even those who are no longer with us.

On Wednesday, Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse both received posthumous nominations this year’s awards. Houston’s collaboration with Jordin Sparks on “Celebrate” is up for Best Gospel International Performance, and Winehouse’s song “Our Day Wil Come” is up for Best International Performance.

Other notable nominees include R. Kelly, whose two nominations this year bring him to six noms total, the most in Soul Train Awards History. Usher also made Soul Train Awards history with five nominations, surpassing both Michael Jackson and Beyoncé for total nominations in a lifetime.

Hosted by Cedric The Entertainer, the Soul Train Awards will be held Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas and aired Nov. 25 at 9 p.m. on BET and Centric.

Below is a complete list of this year’s Soul Train Awards nominees.

Congratulations, everyone!

Best New Artist
Elle Varner
Emeli Sande
J. Cole
Luke James
Robert Glasper

Centric Award
Esperanza Spalding
Gary Clark Jr.
Leah Labelle

Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
BeBe Winans, America America
Fred Hammond, I Feel Good
Marvin Sapp, My Testimony
Mary Mary, Go Get It
Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks, Celebrate

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
2 Chainz feat. Drake, No Lie
Wale feat. Miguel, Lotus Flower Bomb
Nas, Daughters
Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz, Mercy
Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo, Leave You Alone

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Keyshia Cole
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Robin Thicke
Trey Songz

Album of the Year
Eric Benet, The One
Frank Ocean, Channel Orange
Nas, Life Is Good
R. Kelly, Write Me Back
Usher, Looking For Myself

Song of the Year
Estelle, “Thank You”
John Legend feat. Ludacris, “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”
Trey Songz, “Heart Attack”
Tyrese, “Stay”
Usher, “Climax”
Wale feat. Miguel, “Lotus Flower Bomb”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Thank You,” Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)
“Tonight (Best You Ever Had),” John Legend feat. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel,” Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)
“Daughters,” Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)
“Share My Love,” R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)
“Climax,” Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

Best Dance Performance
Beyoncé, Love On Top
Chris Brown, Turn Up The Music
Nicki Minaj, Starships
Rihanna, Where Have You Been
Usher, Scream Awards: Best Caribbean Performance
Cover Drive, Bajan Style
Damien “Junior Gong” Marley, SuperHeavy
Jimmy Cliff, Rebirth
Matisyahu, Spark Seeker
Sean Paul, Tomahawk Technique Best International Performance
Amy Winehouse, Our Day Will Come
Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius, Alone Together
Emeli Sande, Next To Me
Estelle, Thank You
Gotye feat. Kimbra, Somebody (That I Used To Know)
Rebecca Ferguson, Nothing’s Real But Love Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group
Chris Botti, Impressions
Kenny Garrett, Seeds From The Underground
Melody Gardot, The Absence
The Robert Glasper Experiment, Black Radio
Tony Bennett, Isn’t It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group
Ben Tankard, Full Tank
Cassandra Wilson, Another Country
Esperanza Spalding, Radio Music Society
Peter White, Here We Go

The Soul Train Awards, hosted by Cedric the Entertainer, will be taped Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas.

The show will air Nov. 25 on BET and Centric.

Was the Amy Winehouse Is Honored Posthumously At The 2012 Soul Train Awards information helpful? Be sure to check out the related posts below.

Amy Winehouse News | | Bookmark this Entry

About Amy Winehouse Forever Curator

With a love of music, gifted songwriters and musicians is our way of sharing with you the many talents of Amy Winehouse. This is a tribute site curated to source, document and archive past, present, and future news about Amy Winehouse.

Comments are closed.